EBC Building Energy Codes Working Group Annual Symposium

EBC Building Energy Codes Working Group Annual Symposium

9 November 2020
23:00 (Tokyo), 9:00 (Washington, D.C.), 11:00 (Brasilia), 15:00 (Copenhagen), 6:00 (Seattle)

Registration Link: https://umd.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJApf-GprjkuH9KKSv1AJ_L1LklKO9QXMoj1

(EBC BECWG Business meeting (BECWG members only) from 12:30 to 14:00 UTC/GMT)

In order to accommodate as many time zones as possible, we are breaking the sessions into pre-recorded presentations and live discussion. To facilitate the discussion, we ask participants to review the presentations before the meeting begins.

Please view pre-recorded presentations in advance.

Times below are in Coordinated Universal Time Zone (UTC) / Greenwich Mean Time Zone (GMT).

Session 1. Integrating Research and Technology Breakthroughs in Codes

Moderator: Dr. Takao Sawachi, Building Research Institute, Japan (EBC Chair)

14:00 – 14:05 UTC/GMT

(Live) Recap of pre-recorded presentations

Dr. Takao Sawachi

(Pre-recorded. Please view pre-recorded presentations in advance.)

Overview of new technology integration in building energy codes (15 min) – Bertoldi PDF

Bertoldi Zoom Recording

Dr. Paolo Bertoldi, European Commission Joint Research Centre

(Pre-recorded)

Case Study 1: Issues and options for renewable energy integration in codes (15 min) – Rawal PDF

Mr. Rajan Rawal, Center for Advanced Research in Building Science and Energy, CEPT University, India

(Pre-recorded)

Case study 2: Building automation and metering in codes (15 min) – Oreszczyn PDF

https://youtu.be/A6ERtg8Gv_Q

Dr. Tadj Oreszczyn, University College London Energy Institute, and Smart Energy Research Lab (SERL)

(Pre-recorded)

Case study 3: Evaluation of photovoltaic cells, fuel cells, batteries and plug-in electric vehicles as new technologies in a residential energy code (15 min) – Mae PDF

https://youtu.be/jif5y5rmnw0

Dr. Masayuki Mae, University of Tokyo

14:05 – 14:30

(Live) Discussion

Facilitated by Dr. Takao Sawachi

Session 2. Adapting/Expanding Code Coverage in Places with Hot Climates

Moderator: Mr. Jeremy Williams, U.S. Department of Energy

14:30 – 14:35 (Live) Recap of pre-recorded presentations Mr. Jeremy Williams

(Pre-recorded)

Code requirements in hot climates: perspectives from an established code and on developing a new code (15 min) – Yong PDF

https://youtu.be/nL6cB26t8B0

Mr. Siew Hwa Yong, Building and Construction Authority, Singapore

(Pre-recorded)

Code requirements in hot climates: perspectives from an established code and on developing a new code (15 min) – Lamberts PDF

https://youtu.be/0B83pRM_b-8

Dr. Roberto Lamberts, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil

(Pre-recorded)

How codes can help mitigate increases in cooling demand and reduce stress on the power system (15 min) – Franconi PDF

https://youtu.be/qu3M0KN7YWk

Dr. Ellen Franconi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, U.S.

14:35 – 14:55

(Live) Discussion

Facilitated by Mr. Jeremy Williams

14:55 – 15:05

(Live) Concluding Remarks

Mr. David Nemtzow and Dr. Michael Donn