Scientific Steering Committee

Sustaining SSC Members are:

  • Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) [United States] Point of Contact: Steve Rose
  • International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) [Austria] Point of Contact: Keywan Riahi
  • The Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency (PBL) [Netherlands] Point of Contact: Detlef van Vuuren
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory’s Joint Global Change Research Institute at the University of Maryland (PNNL/JGCRI) [United States] Point of Contact: Jae Edmonds
  • National Institute for Environmental Studies (NIES) [Japan] Point of Contact: Shinichiro Fujimori
  • Stanford Energy Modeling Forum (EMF) [United States] Point of Contact: John Weyant
  • Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) [Germany] Point of Contact: Elmar Kriegler

Appointed At-Large SSC Members are (2019-2021):

  • Energy Research Institute, National Development and Reform Commission (ERI) [China] Point of Contact: Jiang Kejun
  • Euro-Mediterranean Center on Climate Change (CMCC) [Italy] Point of Contact: Massimo Tavoni
  • Programa de Planejamento Energético (PPE/COPPE/UFRJ) [Brazil] Point of Contact: Roberto Schaeffer

Elected At-Large SSC Members are (2019-2021):

  • Centre International de Recherche sur l’Environnement et le Developpement (CIRED) [France] Point of Contact: Céline Guivarch
  • European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC) [Spain] Point of Contact: Peter Russ
  • Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad (IIMA) [India] Point of Contact: Amit Garg
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change (MIT) [USA] Point of Contact: Sergey Paltsev

Although most of the work of the IAMC will be carried out through SWGs, the SSC provides the leadership for the IAMC and is ultimately responsible for the governance and all of the work of the IAMC. In specific, the responsibilities of the SSC include:

  • Identify potential research priorities and opportunities based on input from IAMC member organizations and the IAMC Advisory Council.
  • Identify issues to be addressed by SWGs and form, oversee, approve, and communicate work by SWGs;
  • Review and recommend activities brought to it by IAMC member organizations and potential partner organizations;
  • Serve as a point of contact of other external bodies, such as the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).
  • Secure and shepherd the resources necessary to successful conduct the business of the IAMC.
  • Establish an IAMC Secretariat to help with administrative tasks.

The SSC takes decisions by consensus.

Membership in the Scientific Steering Committee

The SSC is a small group that insures that work gets done through SWGs. There are two types of Scientific Steering Committee members: Sustaining members and At-Large members. There is no difference in the responsibilities and authorities vested in Sustaining and At-large members. Membership in the SSC is held at the institutional level, with points of contact identified for each member organization.

Sustaining Members of the IAMC are organizations that have provided leadership to the integrated assessment modeling community over many years, have a long history of influential publications in the area of integrated assessment modeling and research, and which develop and maintain extensive, integrated, and comprehensive IAMs. To be a Sustaining member of the SSC requires that the organization participate actively in SWGs.

The IAM community is home to a wide range of organizations with sub disciplinary expertise, such as energy economic modelers, smaller integrated assessment modeling groups or modelers with particularly important regional foci. At large members represent these key contributors to IAM development that are not otherwise represented in the Sustaining Membership.

Selection and Governance of the Scientific Steering Committee: Membership in the SSC is determined every three years. Membership is selected in a three-step process that begins with the Sustaining members.

Selection of the Sustaining members for the Scientific Steering Committee: The Sustaining members of the SSC are selected by the present Sustaining members of the SSC. Every existing Sustaining member is up for re-election every three years. The process begins with the existing Sustaining members.

The SSC will establish a process by which voting can be done through a secret ballot and outside of a SSC meeting process. Every existing Sustaining member votes as to whether or not every other existing Sustaining member continues to meet the criteria of a Sustaining member. This process is intended to account for potential changes that can occur over time in IAM research organizations. Members continue to be regarded as Sustaining members if two-thirds of the other Sustaining members vote for their retention.

Retained members meet to discuss additional teams that might be recognized as Sustaining members and invited to become Sustaining members of the SSC. Voting to add new candidate Sustaining members proceeds in the same way as voting to retain existing Sustaining members. Results of the balloting are reported to the Secretariat and the retained Sustaining members of the SSC.

There are two ways that at-large members are brought into the SSC.

Election of the At-Large IAMC members to the Scientific Steering Committee: All of the IAMC members that are not on the SSC are polled for their choice of At-Large SSC members. The three organizations with the highest number of ballots become At-Large SSC members.

Appointment of At-Large IAMC members to the Scientific Steering Committee: The retained Sustaining members of the SSC plus the newly elected At-large members of the SSC meet and appoint three of the remaining IAMC members for membership in the SSC.

Chairman of the Scientific Steering Committee: The fully constituted SSC will appoint a chairperson from among the full SSC membership, who is charged with ensuring that the SSC meets as necessary to execute the business of the IAMC and at least annually.

Continued membership on the SSC is subject to review at any time.