Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a body whose job is to provide advice and counsel for the SSC. For example, the SSC may solicit the opinions of the Advisory Council on potential research priorities. Members of the Advisory Council are drawn from outside of the IAMC membership.

The Advisory Council helps the IAMC and the SSC to identify and coordinate potential resources to help the IAMC fulfill its mission.

The Advisory Council is also a potential source of information about activities in other research communities, such as the climate modeling community or the impacts research community, that are relevant to IAMC activities.

The Advisory Council also exists to assist the SSC in coordinating with and communicating results to other research communities.

The initial set of Advisory Council members will be appointed by the SSC of the IAMC. One member will be designated the Advisory Council Chairperson, who will serve as the point of contact for the SSC. The term of a membership will be 3 years. Membership is renewable.


The Scientific Steering Committee has not yet constituted the Advisory Council.